Naivasha, Konza Named Special Economic Zones

Published July 28, 2019

The Government has designated 9,000 acres of land in Naivasha, Mombasa, and Machakos as special economic zones (SEZs) as it steps up efforts to boost manufacturing.

Trade and Industrialisation Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya gazetted the zones Friday meaning they enjoy special tax and infrastructure that facilitate a wide range of activities such as storage, export, and re-export.

“The Cabinet Secretary for Industry, Trade, and Co-operatives on the recommendation of Special Economic Zones Authority declare all that land being title No. L.R. No. 8396/56, measuring 404.7 hectares (1,000 acres) in the Mai-Mahiu area within Nakuru County to be a Special Economic Zone,” said Mr. Munya.

The other two parcels of land include the 2,023 hectares (5,000 acres) in Malili Ranch that hosts Konza City on Mombasa Road, Machakos County, and the 1,214.06 hectares (3,000 acres) parcel of land in Dongo Kundu area in Mombasa County.

Local and foreign investors have been seeking licenses to put up 100 Special Economic Zones (SEZ) across the country, according to the Industrialisation ministry.