The name Nakuru means `a dusty place` in the Maasai language - in reference to frequent whirlwinds that engulf the area with clouds of dust.

Nakuru County is located in the former Rift Valley Province of Kenya, about 90km from Nairobi, Nakuru is an agriculturally-rich county blessed with various tourist attractions such as craters and lakes.

Nakuru borders seven counties; Laikipia to the north east, Kericho to the west, Narok to the south west, Kajiado to the south, Baringo to the north, Nyandarua to the east and Bomet to the west.

It covers an area of 7496.5 square kilometres.


Molo; Njoro; Naivasha; Gilgil; Kuresoi South; Kuresoi North; Subukia; Rongai; Bahati; Nakuru Town West; Nakuru Town East


To learn more about County, visit 

For the approved 2018-2022 County  Integrated Development Plan, download at